What with daylight saving it was nearly two o’clock
before I went to bed last night. Again I popped to the loo while it was still
dark, and again Morgan was on the floor wanting to get onto the bed but
frightened of Treacle who was glaring at him. I lifted him up, and both dogs
settled.
I got up shortly after nine o’clock which wasn’t
really quite the lie-in it might have been. Yesterday that would have been
eight o’clock.
I made toast and wondered what the Alexa was playing.
We usually ask it to play Gold Radio
which is quite entertaining. This morning it had decided to play EKR
Gold which is some obscure European station.
As the radio played some rather grim tripe I rummaged
round the Internet. It was much the same as ever. Had no one *really*
been out and done anything yesterday? I’m nosey; I want to see what other
people have been up to.
I sent out birthday wishes and had a look at my
emails, Some new geocaches in Willesborough. They will make a walk for another
day. And one in Hastings… Yesterday I whinged about the ones we found being far
more tricky than the instructions would have had us believe. Another such went
out in Hastings today.
To find it you have to go to a given location and
using a special torch look for a message written in paint that only becomes
visible when you shine ultra-violet light on it. This message gives you another
location to go to. You go there and use your phone to scan for a Bluetooth
beacon. You then rummage in the technical data it gives you to get some
information. You then do some sums with these numbers to get the final location
that you are looking for. And this is rated difficulty two (out of five).
There’s film pots stuck under rocks that have been rated more tricky.
I Munzed, and Wordled. “Rated” gave me nothing
at all. “Clung” did a bit better, and “chuff” got me over
half-way there, and I got it with “chump” on the fourth attempt.
I set the washing machine going and we took the dogs
for a little walk. We’d looked at the map and seen two sets of geocaching
Adventure Labs running along the canal near Hamstreet, so we walked along the
canal and walked back again. We had one minor episode when some idiot took
exception when Morgan growled at his dog. He got rather abusive and seemed to
take offence that I’d been taking photos of my dogs… he even came back after
the squabble to shout “dickhead” at me (albeit from a safe distance).
After that, Bailey’s rolling in fox poo and Treacle’s
going in the canal were something of an anticlimax.
We came home where fox poo was washed off. I hung out
the laundry on the clothes horse. I had hoped to stick it on the washing line,
but the bright morning was becoming very overcast, and with rain forecast I
didn’t want to bring laundry in wetter than it had gone out.
We had a cuppa with the last of yesterday’s coffee and
walnut cake, then I had a little look at the geo-map. There’s a meet-up planned
in early May near Wilmington. A drive out, a little geocaching in the village,
a hike up the hill and a picnic with a view… Could be a plan.
And then I went into the garden. A few months ago I had a problem with algae in the
fish tank. I popped six Ramshorn snails in last Christmas and the problem is
gone… I started with six snails; I’ve now got twenty or more. Would they do a
similar job in the small outdoor fish pond… I’ve tried every other algae cure.
I took some of the weed from the fish tank with some snails on it and dropped
it in the little pond. Will that work?
I then had a
look at the big pond. The aerating pump was running very slowly so I took it
apart, cleaned it all out, put it back together again and got the thing working
perfectly. Sadly the screwdriver I used to fix it is now at the bottom of the
pond… I need a magnet on a length of string to get it out.
Or a new
screwdriver.
I came in and sat on the sofa. I read my Kindle app
for a bit… then nodded off for an hour or so. I hate that. I lay wide awake in
bed for hours on end, and when I am supposed to be awake I’m sparko.
Once awake I marked trainee work for an hour or so.
It’s something I can do and it’s only fair on the trainees that they get
feedback on their efforts. I can remember when I started trying to complete a
specialist portfolio of my own some years ago, and gave up as it was taking
about four months for me to get anything marked.
“er indoors TM” boiled
up bangers and mash which we scoffed whilst watching more “Throw Down”. It
made me think - how do you do pottery as a hobby? The wheel and kiln and drying
stuff is going to take up a *lot* of space.
I wonder if I could clear up the attic room and have a
go?

No comments:
Post a Comment